Council Awards 2019 Eric Reece Scholarship to Michael Aboud


Council recently awarded the 2019 Eric Reece Scholarship to Glenorchy resident and university student, Michael Aboud.

Named in memory of the late Tasmanian Premier Eric Reece, the scholarship recognises the significant contribution Mr Reece made to Tasmania and the City of Glenorchy. 

The scholarship is supported by Mr Reece’s family and funded by Council, and is awarded based on both academic achievement and financial need.
It provides $3,000 a year to a student who lives in Glenorchy and is undertaking an engineering or geology major in a bachelor of science degree, for the term of the recipient’s degree.

Mayor Kristie Johnston described Eric Reece as a local hero.
“Eric Reece lived most of his life in Glenorchy, was involved in the day to day life of the city and had an incredibly good rapport with the Glenorchy people”, she said.
“He was exceptionally intelligent and articulate and was also a very compassionate human being which is why he was such a great leader."
“It is this type of scholarship that fits in with this thinking and I am sure he would have appreciated the fact that a scholarship in his name will help a young person obtain an education they may not have otherwise had the opportunity to pursue.”
Mr Aboud was named as this year’s recipient at a Mayoral reception on 27 March 2019, which was also attended by the previous recipient of the scholarship, Liam Heffernan.
Mr Aboud was educated at Elizabeth College, New Town High School and New Town Primary and is currently undertaking a combined degree of Bachelor of Engineering and Science at the University of Tasmania. 
He is very appreciative of receiving this scholarship and aspires to be a Civil Engineer.
The previous recipient, Mr Heffernan, has completed his studies and is now employed as a Mechanical Engineer with Norske Skog at its Boyer Mill.


left to right:  Mayor Kristie Johnston, Liam Heffernan, Scholarship recipient Michael Aboud, and Dr Damien Holloway from the University of Tasmania.

Left to right:  Mayor Kristie Johnston, Previous scholarship recipient Liam Heffernan, 2019 scholarship recipient Michael Aboud, and Dr. Damien Holloway from the University of Tasmania.