Glenorchy Volunteer Awards 2020


2020 Volunteer Awards List of Recipients

Glenorchy City Council is proud to acknowledge the following people for their fantastic volunteer work within our community. 

A message from Mayor of Glenorchy, Kristie Johnston:

 ‘ Our city would be a very different place without the support and contribution of our volunteers. They embody the true Glenorchy community spirit through their dedication and giving of their time. Particularly during the current pandemic, it is so heartening to see our volunteers are still active in the community where they can be. It is our privilege to recognise our volunteers for their hard work.”

500+ hours

Bucaan Community House - Graeme Barber, Jane Bridges, Laura Rittenhouse, Martin Watkins, Patricia Tomkinson, Regan Love, Tanya Betedradra, Barbara Winkle, Damian Neep, Frank Amicosante

West Moonah Community House - Tom Diver, Karen Johnstone, Richard Parkes, Andrew Axelsen, Sarah Robins, Simon Graham

Hobart City Mission - Brett Cannell, Cheryl Parker, Colin Gebrardt, Shatha Yasso, Adrian Pyrke

1000+ hours

Guide Dogs Tasmania - Monica Lockley

West Moonah Community House - Brian Latham, Russell Rowlands

Hobart City Mission - Carol Willing, Douglas Mcneil, Katy Wherrett, Roslyn Gordon, Victor Andrews

Migrant Resource Centre - Kerry Ho

Bucaan Community House - Rosalind Butler 

2000+ hours

West Moonah Community House - Peter Marshall, Bob Adams

Hobart City Mission - Judy Moore, Maree Bennett, Paul Morris

5000+ hours

Association of Ukrainians in Tasmania - Joseph Didocha

Special Contribution- 10,000+ hours

West Moonah Community House - Barbara Hobbs, Peter Honner, Robert Machin

Association of Ukrainians in Tasmania - Peter Ladaniwskyj

Collinsvale Fire Brigade - Ian Wade


Association of Ukrainians in Tasmania - History Project Subcommittee

CatholicCare - Let’s Talk’ English Conversation Group

Our community is a better place because of you. Thank you for all that you do!

Due to COVID-19 we were unable to hold the award ceremony in person. Instead, on 20 May 2020, Mayor Johnston acknowledged the achievements of our volunteers via a virtual ceremony streamed live on our Facebook page.  Watch the video here