Declaration of Polls event for Glenorchy Aldermen

Newly elected Glenorchy Aldermen including Mayor Bec Thomas and Deputy Mayor Sue Hickey were officially sworn into their roles at a Declaration of the Polls event at the Moonah Arts Centre on Friday 4 November.

Tasmanian Electoral Commission Returning Officer for Glenorchy, Justin Meeker, formally declared the results from the recent Local Government Elections with Aldermen reading and signing the Declaration of Office.

Alongside the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, the other eight Aldermen elected are Kelly Sims, Molly Kendall, Jan Dunsby, Steven King, Josh Cockshutt, Harry Quick, Russell Yaxley and Stuart Slade. 

Mayor Thomas said that the event was an important one for both Council and the community as it was the start of the new Council working together to serve the Glenorchy community and an acknowledgement of the important role that the elected Aldermen have.

“With over 51,000 people, Glenorchy is a growing and diverse City with many differing viewpoints, opportunities and challenges,” she said.

“It’s a huge honour for us all to be elected by ratepayers and residents to represent our community, and this event signifies our commitment to work together to achieve the best outcomes for our City and those that live, work, study and play here.

“It is wonderful for us to be able to come together and mark the start of our important journey over the next four years.”

The new aldermanic team have workshops scheduled over the next two weekends to review their obligations under the Local Government Act 1993 and to familiarise themselves with Council meeting procedures.

“This will also provide us all with an opportunity to get to know each other and understand how we can best work together to manage our resources effectively and deliver for our community,” Mayor Thomas said.

The first meeting of the new Council will be held on Monday 28 November at 6pm.