Elected Members

The Council of Glenorchy City is the ultimate policy and planning body, and our elected Aldermen represent the interests of the residents, businesses and visitors to our community.

Mayor of Glenorchy

Bec Thomas

Elected 2018

Bec was first elected to Glenorchy City Council as an Alderman in January 2018, then as Deputy Mayor in 2020 and as Mayor in July 2021.

Glenorchy born and bred, educated locally and involved in sport most of her life, Bec has a strong connection to the local community. Her first jobs were at 'Purity' Glenorchy Central and Cooleys Hotel in Moonah, before graduating from UTAS with a Bachelor of Arts and First Class Honours in Sociology in 2006.

Bec’s career has included various roles in the bureaucracy of federal and state government, as well as working as an Adviser to the Speaker of the House of Assembly and local member of parliament. Bec also has her own consultancy ‘Rising Kind’ through which she delivers Mental Health First Aid training. She also represents Southern urban councils on the LGAT General Management Committee.

Bec sits on the following committees:
• Glenorchy Planning Authority
• General Manager’s Performance Review Committee
• Southern Tasmania Regional Waste Authority
• Glenorchy Community and Volunteer Awards Working Group

Deputy Mayor

Sue Hickey

Elected 2021

Sue is a passionate Tasmanian with extensive business, government, and community experience. Her passion is helping the disadvantaged, social/affordable housing, drug/alcohol and mental health.

Sue was elected Deputy Mayor Glenorchy in 2022, (elected Alderman 2021). She was a Hobart City Alderman 2011 -2014 and Lord Mayor 2014-2018 and was elected Speaker of the House, State Parliament 2018-2021.

Other accreditations:
• Master of Business Administration (MBA) UTAS 2012
• Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors
• Fellow of the Australian Marketing Institute
• 2017 Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women (service to government, business and industry)
• 2007 Telstra Tasmanian Businesswoman of the year
• Funeral Celebrant
• Paul Harris Fellow – Rotary

Sue sits on the following committees:
• Audit Panel
• General Manager’s Performance Review Committee


Josh Cockshutt

Elected 2022

Born and raised in the City of Glenorchy, Josh is a passionate young Tasmanian optimistic about the future of our great City.

Josh attended local public schools before going on to study a Bachelor of Business at the University of Tasmania graduating in 2019. He wants to ensure Glenorchy is a safe, clean and welcoming City which is open to business and our community feels a sense of pride and belonging.

Josh has worked since he was 14 and held positions in different industries gaining additional qualifications such as a Certificate IV in Retail Management and Certificate III in Retail Operations. He is also currently President of the Montagu Bay Cricket Club.

Josh sits on the following committee:
• Glenorchy Planning Authority


Jan Dunsby

Elected 2014

Jan is a proud lifelong resident of Glenorchy and in her third term of office.

She has work experience in the education, defence, legal, accounting and community sectors.

In addition to Council duties, Jan currently volunteers for a range of organisations, including Claremont College, Paraquad Tasmania, Lady Clark Retirement Village and Neighbourhood Watch. As a Justice of the Peace, Jan volunteers at the document signing centre and also acts as a Bench Justice when rostered.

Jan sits on the following committees:
• Glenorchy Planning Authority
• General Manager's Performance Review Committee


Molly Kendall

Elected 2022

Molly's young family moved to the Northern Suburbs back in 2010. They love the vibrancy, multiculturalism, and resourcefulness of the people here.

Molly is a social anthropologist by training, specialising in socially fair eco-housing. As Coordinator of the South Hobart Tip Shop, she spent seven years working in waste management, repair, and recycling. She currently works as a co-operative business consultant for a national peak body teaching board governance, organisational transparency, and strategic planning.

Molly is a self confessed tragic community volunteer and event organiser. This includes Foodbank, Tassie Mums, The Homewarming Project, Nature Mates, Clean up Australia Day and AUSMAP. She recently established a Climate Courage Hub, hosting support groups and events.

Molly sits on the following committee:
• Wellington Park Management Trust


Steven King

Elected 2008

Steven was first elected to Council in 2008.

His qualifications include:
• Diploma of Management and Cert 1V in credit management
• Holder of an Australian Credit Licence
• Company Director
• Previous “A” Grade electrician.
• President of NFSRA
• Previous Scout Leader in Glenorchy

Steven sits on the following committees:
• Glenorchy Planning Authority
• Glenorchy Emergency Management Committee


Harry Quick

Elected 2014

Harry was born in Victoria and educated in Victoria and South Australia. He has lived in Berriedale since 1977.

Harry worked for the Tasmanian Education Department and taught in schools around the State for 23 years.

He was elected to the House of Representatives in 1993 as Member for Franklin and retired in 2007.

He is a Member of the Branch Executive for Scouts Tasmania and The Headstone Project.

Harry sits on the following committee:
• Audit Panel


Kelly Sims

Elected 2018

Kelly was first elected to Glenorchy City Council as an Alderman in January 2018. In her career she has worked across industry sectors including Early Childhood education and holds qualifications in large and small Business Management, Adult Training and Assessment and Community Services and Advocacy.

Kelly was named the 2020 Tasmanian Mental Health Ambassador and she continues to advocate for others, most notably for children and animals.

As an Alderman, Kelly strives to empower the community and represent the views of the residents with integrity. She is passionate about the city of Glenorchy and is committed to finding opportunities to work on the issues that impact us all. In her role she feels a great responsibility to hold our current community leaders accountable and driving change for the better at all levels.

Kelly lives locally and enjoys the outdoors. She owns horses and spends time with her large family. She volunteers with various community groups and committees and since 2014 has supported an orphanage in Nepal.


Stuart Slade

Elected 1991

Stuart has resided in the Glenorchy City all his life and attended local schools. He is married to Lynne with three children and six grandchildren.

Stuart is an experienced elected member, risk strategist, company director and former police sergeant.

He was first elected to GCC in 1991, a former deputy mayor (1996 - 2005) and former mayor (2011 - 2014).

He is a Fellow of Australian Institute of Company Directors, has tertiary qualifications in health science and risk management from QUT, Company Directors' Diploma through AICD/UNE and completed two local government courses at UC.

Stuart sits on the following committee:
• Glenorchy Community and Volunteer Awards Working Group


Russell Yaxley

Elected 2022

Russell aims to bring positive action, smart solutions and dedicated work for our community by listening and being a strong voice.

With a business and communications background, he is a local business owner with a Diploma in Property Services.

He currently serves on the board of the Real Estate Institute of Tasmania and also a committee member of the Wellington Cricket Club. A member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, he continues to expand his relationships and aims to serve and represent our community with the very best.

Russell enjoys all sports and time with his family and friends.

Russell sits on the following committees:
• Glenorchy Planning Authority
• Glenorchy Community and Volunteer Awards Working Group